top of page
Search

Can your iPad replace a laptop?

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

As all of you know I extensively use my iPad along side my laptop for studying, but the question is can I go about my day only using my iPad? My answer is yes and I'm going to tell you why!


It all started in September 2019 when iPad OS was released to the public, this update changed the game. Now the iPad has access to almost all of the same functionalities you would find on a laptop, some of these including trackpad/mouse support and the ability to open apps in split screen view. This very update was the start of the iPad revolution, now constantly adapting for a better user experience.


I know some people may say the only way an iPad can replace a laptop is if you own the Magic Keyboard Apple has just released, which is sold for just under £300 and is totally unrealistic price point for students. Personally I have a keyboard case from amazon which was about £25 and it works perfectly alongside my very cute mouse from Victsing (image below). The keyboard is detachable from the case so on days where I don't want to type there isn't a keyboard getting in the way. The mouse is also bluetooth and multi-device, this meaning you can connect it to not only your iPad but a laptop or desktop computer too, and did I mention how beautiful the baby blue colour is!


Which is definitely the best thing about having an iPad, the option to take handwritten and typed notes in one document, this is insanely helpful when you're like me and love to type in lessons but also have to jot down formulae for lessons like chemistry or maths (which can be very hard to type).


If you are a visual or kinaesthetic learner the iPad would totally work for you, making notes that stand out and aren't in the boring Arial font make you want to study, which is the most important part of education.


Laptops are great and all but your information retention will be much worse than someone who handwrites their notes, which many studies have proven. With the iPad you have the best of both worlds (Hannah Montana would be proud)! Plus when you go digital you never need to worry about deciding what work to bring to school that day, you have everything already in your bag with you.


So overall, If you are deciding between the iPad or a laptop definitely decide how you want to work first of all. Handwriting on the iPad isn't for everyone and thats totally ok! Make sure the decision is right for you because these purchases aren't cheap.





591 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page